Make your own free website on

A Decoding Journey


In The Code Book by Simon Singh , ten stages of encoded messages were placed for the Cipher Challenge . Our group member, Bi Ran, single-handedly broke seven stages which included Caesar Substitution, Playfair, Enigma, etc. After much tries, 7 out of the 10 stages were broken. We included some steps taken to decode the messages so that the public can get an understanding of the way to decode a message.

Stage 1 Mono-alphabetic Substitution

Stage 2 - Caesar Shift cipher

Stage 3 Homophonic Substitution

Stage 4 - Vigenère cipher

Stage 5 Book Cipher

Stage 6 Playfair Cipher

Stage 8 Enigma